Photo: ‘Twas only a matter of time, wasn’t it? Minor decides he must climb the fence and Major goes climbing right after. I let them do it (figuring the helmets would prevent the worst injury I would worry about) until Minor decided to keep going behind the barn! I was like, child! Get out from back there! The boy knows no fear, I swear!

 

Minor’s new preschool had a visiting day yesterday. Kids from each of the different classes got to see what their “new” classroom will look like next year. New families were invited as well, so I got my boys dressed (nicely) and put them in The Blackmobile to check it out.

I’m sure you’re not surprised, but I’ve had a little bit of anxiety about this new preschool. Shh! I can hear your thoughts! “You have anxiety about everything these days, Kyra!” Yes! I know! Anyway, I’ve been worried about how Minor will adjust, knowing he wouldn’t see his usual classmates and he’d be going to a new building. Furthermore, his brother won’t be there. These are not small things!

But this is now the second time we’ve visited and the boy has been fine. No tears, no shyness. He fell right into his room yesterday and even engaged with a few of his new classmates eagerly. He didn’t even notice that his brother hadn’t joined him in the room. Didn’t seem to care in the slightest.

The best part about the visit was finding out that there is another bi-racial boy in Minor’s class. The two of them played together beautifully! Not only that, but there is a big sister who is Major’s age and they played together nicely, too! They gave me an email list with all of the names, addresses and email addresses of the parents of Minor’s classmates and I’m just itching to set up a playdate. Interracial family playdate! Let’s drink and eat and visit! Tell me all of your stories and I’ll tell you all of mine!

That won’t be strange, will it?

Gotta be cool… don’t be weird, Kyra. Let it all happen organically. Don’t be that crazy woman who is trying too hard.

Seriously, though, I’m really hoping that becomes a real and true friendship. It would mean the world to me if the boys had even just one bi-racial friend. Someone else who is going through the same experience as they are. Especially when their identity development really starts to kick into gear and people start trying to tell them who and what they are… I just want them to have some peers in their life who will see them and know a bit about what they are going through. That’s a ways off but… wouldn’t be lovely if this was the start of something that could last a while?

Anyway, I’m increasingly convinced that we made the best possible decision for Minor. I think he is really going to enjoy himself. I also think he’s going to grow a lot… it will be interesting to see how he does without big brother around.

Major, of course, was very jealous that we visited Minor’s school, but not his school. “When do I get to go to kindergarten?” He whined afterward.

“Actually,” I informed him, “we get to have a visit next week.”

It seems that Massachusetts mandates that incoming kindergarteners have a prescreening before school starts. Eye tests, ear screen and I think there are behavioral things, too. I suspect that this is also part of the Sorting Hat ritual to figure out how to group the kids into classes. I’m curious to know what they will come up with. It seems that most of the kids I know are getting some sort of services or special accommodations from their school. I’m not sure what to expect, but I’m trying to keep an open mind. Major gets to do all of that while I sit with a squirmy Minor who, I pray, will  be content to play with his tablet instead of wander around the school and touch stuff. It will be my first time back in the building since that winter day with the French onion soup.

It’s hot here. 90 degrees, but no humidity, so it’s manageable right now. They are saying that the humidity is coming for the weekend. I guess we’ll have to put the window units in a little early this year. Nope, not complaining. I’ll take the warmth and sunshine, and I’ll try to soak up as much of it as I possibly can. The winters are too long to bitch about 90 degrees. Though I must say, it’s a bit early.

At least it’s green. At least the garden is growing. At least there is a pleasant and persistent breeze. Hello, summer. You are welcome here.

See you Friday for Quiet Thoughts.

Thank you for contributing to the discussion!

