Photo: I’m told that the Portland Head Light is one of the most photographed lighthouses in the entire world. It’s easily understandable why. We chose the perfect weekend to visit.

 

The Husband and I finally, finally got a little time away from the boys over the weekend. The In-laws drove up from Maryland to babysit so that the two of us could go to our absolute favorite place in New England: Portland, Maine.

Portland is the absolute greatest place. Perfectly walkable, friendly people, food that is to die for, and if you go in the off season, it’s not too crowded and there is plenty that is open. We planned our visit perfectly, as it was the tail end of restaurant week, so every restaurant had their very best out for consumption and, oh, did we consume!

The last time we visited Portland, I was pregnant with Minor. And, believe it or not, that was the last time we’ve had any just-us time. Almost 4 years! Isn’t that insane? We’ve been busy, as you well know, but there really isn’t an excuse for that. We told ourselves that we’d find more time  reconnect and rediscover. Of course, I keep telling my husband that he owes me a warm-weather vacation on a fantastic all-inclusive resort. He then reminds me that we have no funds for such things. Luckily for both of us, the weather could not have been more perfect for March! High 50’s, brisk wind, sunny blue skies… we walked for 5 miles around the Eastern Promenade on Saturday without a care!

We spent our time dreaming out loud, speaking about goals immediate and far off. There are so many things we’d like to do, so many forces that hinder our efforts, so many opportunities that we want to seize, but sacrifices that will have to be made to do so. Not having the boys pulling us in every direction certainly helped us untie some knots and re-tie others. Decisions were made over excellent beer, stories were told over blueberry pancakes and, in the end, I’m sitting here with my jar full to the brim, my eyes set on the future and my heart full in inspiration. There is so much to do, Dear Reader. I’m once again grateful beyond words for my understanding, excellent, balancing partner.

If you are ever in New England, take the time to go to Portland. First of all, Maine is a really beautiful and wonderful place. The Husband and I are scheming about how we can spend more time there. There are all sorts of beaches, it would seem. We’re still searching for our beach of choice up here. Maybe we’ll try one this summer! Anyway, the people are incredibly friendly. We sat at the counter of Becky’s Dinner and were warmly welcomed. Matter of fact, we spoke with a lot of random people during our adventures. Happy to give recommendations, happy to tell us why Maine is much better than Massachusetts (true), happy to tell us why Portland is so special… if you ever visit Becky’s, I highly recommend sitting at the counter and watching those ladies run that place. Incredible. And get the blueberry pancakes. Best pancakes I’ve ever had!

Portand is also home to the best sushi in the entire universe, some pretty damn good margaritas and a brewpub that made a Reuben that The Husband described as the best he’d ever had. They made a badass tiramisu, too! And big shout out to the little toy store we visited with the awesome staff. We bought little speedboats for the boys, had a few laughs and got a great restaurant recommendation from them!

The most renewing part of all was being outside and near the water. The salt in the air really does something for my soul. There were also little moments of peeking into what life looks like for others. The intimate wedding in a gazebo overlooking the bay really stands out in my mind: six friends, the air whipping around them, a camera, two rings, a woman in a long white sweater with some adorable boots and her man in a suit. It was short, but poignant and beautiful. The power was in the act, of course, but also in the intimacy. Who needs 200 people as witnesses when you can have your closest friends, a cozy spot and the perfect view? I wish those two the very best.

Quite a few moments like that made it into my writer’s notebook. There were also th names we encountered, news stories about interesting Maine customs we got to watch on the news and ideas for characters all went in there as well. I couldn’t help myself, really. The scenery was just incredible.

At the end of the long pier:

20160312_110533

These old posts are near the Ocean Gateway port. I love how they stand together, slowly rotting away, the seaweed covering them with little green skirts. There must be hundreds of them out there (this is only two of the three  long columns in the water). They are haunting and beautiful. I can’t wait to add them to an upcoming work of fiction!

20160312_112010

Anyone know who this dude is? There wasn’t a sign or anything to tell us:

20160312_112651

We got down close to the cold water. It was clear and shimmering in the sun. We watched a few ships go by, including a fire/rescue vessel, which was pretty cool. It left a powerful wake that made us have to move back a bit. Totally worth it!

20160312_11432120160312_114905

We walked the bottom portion of the promenade then made our way up a (steep) hill, which brought us to pretty neighborhoods and playgrounds with spectacular views. The hill was lined with these beauties. I’m told they’re sumac, so I’m glad we didn’t touch.

20160312_124007

We were told about the Portland Head Light while we were having breakfast at Becky’s yesterday morning. Eastcoast yuppies that we are, The Husband and I are suckers for lighthouses. Fort Williams Park is beautiful, free and home to this beautiful building. Go see it!

20160313_121201

20160313_120029

20160313_120350

and this was there, for the poets who read my blog:

20160313_120554

This was the coolest part of my weekend. THE BOOT MOBILE OH MY GOD!

20160313_125448

The Husband wouldn’t let me chase it down to try to get free boots. 😦 This made me sad. It was still a nifty thing to see!

I feel so energized and inspired this week, Dear Reader. There is much to do, so much more to look forward to. As grateful as I am for the time away, I’m excited to be back and even more excited to continue to share with each of you. The journey is winding, but not without excellent company. Thank you for choosing to be with me, step by step.

What got you up this morning, Dear Reader? What’s gonna get you through the week? Let’s get to Friday feeling accomplished, shall we?

See you Wednesday!

UPDATE! As if things couldn’t get any better, I just poked out my window to see the weather and what did I see? The fox, looking healthy and awesome and 5 beautiful little kits! Fluffy gray fur, little white puffs on their tails… they looked great! Yay!!! I hope I can get a picture for you soon!

9 thoughts on “A Little Time Away

    • You know, the best time to visit is actually October. Start of the Lobster harvest. Prices are unbelievable and the cuisine is just… I can’t even describe it. And the weather is PERFECT. Not a lot of deciduous trees, do you don’t get the classic New England color pallet, but who cares? OH! Shipyard Brewery (based in Portland) makes a beer called Pumpkin Head during that time of year–goes perfectly with any any all cool-weather Fall cuisine. You can’t go wrong. You should totally go back!

    • Haha, I know.

      It was pretty awesome. Best part about this house, I swear! Such a profoundly wonderful gift. I’m honored again: she trusts me enough to have her young here. Let’s them play in our yard. It’s just so wonderful. I can’t express how grateful I am to her for letting us witness.

Thank you for contributing to the discussion!

