Photo: Monochromatic is not my aesthetic, you dig? Someone turn on the technocolor, please!

Oh my God. Another foot of snow today! So. Effing. Depressing.

(Longtime readers know that I don’t usually start whining about winter until March… sorry!)

Ok… maybe before March… but I don’t start complaining in earnest until March, usually. I mean, come on. This is just ridiculous!

Massachusetts is covered with the white stuff. None of the snow from the blizzard has had the opportunity to melt, so we’ve just been staring at the stark white nothingness, occasionally broken up by the ruddy brown of snow “treated” with salt and sand on the side of the road. Then, of course, is that sludgy-black stuff that also hangs out on the snow piles.

Not attractive, not inspiring. I miss color.

So, this  happened:

20150201_101306

BOOM! Ghastly living room FINALLY painted! It only took a year! Just so ya’ll can recall the badness of how this place looked a year ago (this was taken before reno and furniture. But the wallpaper remained…)

IMG_20131110_112150_201

That wallpaper still exists… under the paint. We couldn’t strip it because the guys who did the new plastering on the ceiling and on parts of the wall really went overboard.

20150201_101328

It even makes our furniture look ok! And do you see the dining room there in the back? It’s nice that the colors look cohesive, with the warm and the cool, you know? I think my favorite part about the coloring is how nicely it makes the wood pop. Just brings it to life in a brand new way!

Everyone in the universe needs a Benjamin Moore color consultant. If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a million times (and no, I’m not gettin’ paid to say that!!).

Next stop: Curtains. There was a bit of a snag with that… they ran out of the fabric I needed for the dining room and I’m not sure that I have enough for what I need for the living room… that’s this weekend’s problem.

To keep the inspiration going, I’ve been doing a lot of sewing instead of knitting. The hand-piecing for the little quilt that I’m working on is going surprisingly well!

20150202_115255

I am loving this so much more than quilting  with the damn machine. I am going to have to make my peace with my sewing machine in the very near future, but right now, I’m enjoying the intimacy and meditation of my little needle, my thread and my fabric. I’m also extremely pleased with how the fabrics look together! I am also doing a little bit of embroidery, which I really want to share, but I can’t because it is a gift for someone who occasionally reads the blog. When I ship it off and I know that it has arrived, I’ll post. I’ll share that gold thread is involved, which is like “ooooo, pretty!” and I’m enjoying the design I created. Should be done soon!

And seeing as blue and yellow seem to be the color pallet of the day, it even showed up in the play-dough I made this morning for the boys:

20150202_130705

The big, crumbly disaster that I’m going to have to clean up after this blog post is totally worth it. That dough kept those boys occupied for two hours today! No fights, no whining, no wants, no nothing! It was like… perfection.

I’ll admit that I haven’t been terribly inspired to try new recipes of late. I keep threatening that I’m going to start baking my own sandwich bread, but I haven’t had the time. Instead I’ve been working on my knife skills and working on technique and presentation. Resulting in this a few nights ago:

20150120_183909

I have pretty ok knives, so I’m working on consistency and speed when it comes to cutting. Here… I dunno, I was just trying to make it pretty. The potatoes came out tasty, but not with the full crispy texture that I was hoping for. I need to pick up one of my cookbooks, open it to a random page and just decide that I’m doing whatever I land on. Because, frankly, I’m in the cooking doldrums.

Because what’s inspiring about a foot of snow on top of two feet of snow?

THE ANSWER IS NOTHING, DEAR READER!!

Sing me a song of spring, dear reader. Or at least something colorful and nice to look forward to. I’ll try to make something up by Wednesday.

For those who are curious, you should know that I officially started my revision/rewrite of Project Vi this morning. I’m so excited. I’ve been preparing for a month to do the work: figuring out weaknesses in the plot, clarifying character motivations, raising the tensions and and the states, and solidifying the setting of the novel. It was a fun mental exercise, and I think it only strengthened the story. I’m really proud of what I have, but I’m really looking forward to what the final result of this product can potentially become. There is something that brings me a bright bit of excitement and also a bit of terror: I see what the regular writing of this blog and the serious focus/dedication to writing regularly has done. I see improvement. It’s like, wow, I really sucked before and I suck less now. I’m not great: I see all of my mistakes before I see my nuggets of goodness. But still, I see the difference. It feels good! But, also, I hope that I can deliver.

I’m my own worst critic and my expectations are, admittedly, impossible.

A wind gust went by the house that rattled the windows so badly, I just jumped in my chair.

Bad bad bad  bad bad. Who has the Spring? Can you send it to Massachusetts!?

Stay warm and colorful, dear reader!

16 thoughts on “Color My World

  1. The paint looks great
    Really pops the wood well
    Spring is indeed on its way… But this is that Time, before the dawn, so to speak
    Hang in there
    May the intimacy of quilting & making by hand bring cheer

    • I had so much fun watching my yard in the light of the moon last night. The snow in the moonlight and the shadows cast by the trees was just magical. I wish that I had a powerful camera so that I can capture it. I really tried, but my phone just can’t handle it!

      THAT got me inspired, though! Don’t know how to translate that to crafting, but I am going to let my Muse ponder on it. That should I hold me over until Spring, glorious Spring!

    • Ohhhhhh the sadness! The sadness!!! But yes, I’ll settle for children just getting to school! I can’t BELIEVE BPS is closed tomorrow! Crazy, no? That never happened when *I* was teaching! lol We are so stir-crazy around here, it’s not even funny. Even if we DO get outside, playgrounds and other equipment is totally covered in snow! 😦

      • I caved. They’re rotting their brains with Minecraft. I made chicken and homemade dumplings as a small nod to doing something productive with the day. We won’t see grass until April…

        • I’m proud to say we only watched the Lego Movie ONCE in the last few days. Feelin’ pretty good about the TV watching, actually. But tomorrow… oh tomorrow… It may very well all fall apart. Meanwhile, Minecraft REQUIRES creativity, so don’t feel too bad! And I’m jealous of that chicken and dumplings… maybe that’s what I should make for dinner tomorrow!

          As for no grass until April, why is the truth so depressing? You know, it took me two winters to understand why we need a February AND an April break around here. People really would lose their minds without that extra opportunity to get away!

  2. bake cookies in the shape of snow shovels and make them all kinds of different colors like shovels are. or little cookie sweaters, or screw it, flowers and bumblebees, beach balls and palm trees. bake spring!

    love what you’ve done to the place, dahling.

    I’m digging the 2 and 2 blue pattern with the yellow. it makes the eye work at what it’s seeing while pleasing it either the deliciousness of that yellow.

  3. hey, is there such a thing as washable food coloring? or some facsimile? Put different colors in squeeze bottles, wrap the boys in plastic, and paint that giant blank white canvas of a yard. Bob Ross that baby up, yo.

    let the neighbors talk, or ask them to come over and paint too. it’s a big freakin yard. it’s like the sidewalk drawing ya do with colored chalk in spring 🙂

    • You know, one of the other moms does something similar with spray bottles and junk. I think it is a good idea in THEORY, but there are two problems: 1) the boys only love art but so much… and 2) the boys only love cold but so much (remember Ursa Minor and the “magic wand”?), So you spend 30 minutes getting them into all that gear and then you get them outside and they whine and bitch for 15 minutes before they finally win out and you bring them back in. Doesn’t seem to matter what I do to try to entice them, they just whine until they get back inside (and then they whine when they get in!!! GRRR!!). The other thing is trying to get them to manipulate squeeze bottles in mittens, which is a bit of a pain… This might be a NEXT winter activity…

Thank you for contributing to the discussion!

