Photo: Ain’t I a stinker? Focusing on the carpet when you only really care about the paint. So mean of me…

How long has it been, really?

It has all been such a blur. So, too, was the installation of the carpet in the playroom. The men were in at 3:20 and out by 4:30. They were just amazing. They had to use two pieces of carpet to cover the room with a seam in the middle but, for the life of me, I cannot see it.

But you don’t care about the carpet. You care about everything else. So here you are:

The entire room (looking from the front of the house to the back)

The entire room (looking from the front of the house to the back)

 

The row of windows, each needing so much work on them. This room has the most windows in the entire house. Probably good that we got this out of the way first. We have a little bit of scraping to do what with dripping and mistakes and what not. Remember, we did FOUR coats of paint over this entire room, including the 10 windows.

The row of windows, each needing so much work on them. This room has the most windows in the entire house. Probably good that we got this out of the way first. We have a little bit of scraping to do what with dripping and mistakes and what not. Remember, we did FOUR coats of paint over this entire room, including the 10 windows.

 

The "internal" window that looks into the living room.

The “internal” window that looks into the living room.

 

See that long blue wall? I want to put quotes on it. If you've got inspiring quotes (or just interesting ones from literature), please send them my way! The boys won't get them now, but when they are older and can read, this will be a cool bonus feature of the room...

See that long blue wall? I want to put quotes on it. If you’ve got inspiring quotes (or just interesting ones from literature), please send them my way! The boys won’t get them now, but when they are older and can read, this will be a cool bonus feature of the room…

 

The door to the outside....

The door to the outside….

 

Up close for more detail.

Up close for more detail.

 

I booted the toys out of the living room and put them in here. This is about 40% of their actual toys, though.

I booted the toys out of the living room and put them in here. This is about 40% of their actual toys, though.

 

The room is so much more spacious without that stupid couch taking up all the room! And by the by, this picture was taken just before 5 o'clock EDT, so that's perfect afternoon light streaming through the windows. Best room in the afternoon, though a little warm.

The room is so much more spacious without that stupid couch taking up all the room! And by the by, this picture was taken just before 5 o’clock EDT, so that’s perfect afternoon light streaming through the windows. Best room in the afternoon, though a little warm.

 

My living room is in recovery. Poor baby...

My living room is in recovery. Poor baby…

But, as I alluded to in my title, this is really just the beginning for this room.

First, and annoyingly, we have to re-prime and paint the baseboard of the room because the men scratched it to the wood when they were installing the carpet. The salesman warned me that this might happen, but I was really surprised that they went all the way down to the wood. Where I see just a few specks, my husband sees the entire baseboard in need of being redone. I’m trying to save him from himself, but he just won’t listen. So, awesome.

Second, we need to bring the toys back down into the playroom and come up with a system of organization that makes sense for everyone. Now that the couch is gone, the boys really have the fullness of the room. I am hoping that our current diaper-boxes will turn into an IKEA hack or something. Or even IKEA, as we still have a gift certificate that I’d like to use. It isn’t a huge sum, but enough to get us a bookshelf and some storage bins, I think.

Third, we need to soften up the room with some curtains (because, seriously, the sun is strong in there in the afternoons), pillows, and I have a dream of a tented reading nook. I recently located a JoAnn’s Fabrics and I can’t wait to go in there and shop around. We also have some old sheets and blankets that are in good enough condition to be upcycled into fort materials and maybe even cut up to make pillows. I’ve gotta get my hands on some batting and other fillers… hmm…

But in the meantime, the boys have their space back and I have my space back! I even have my husband back: I’ve been flying solo since Sunday. This means that I’m going to get the best sleep that I’ve had in a while tonight. I cannot wait!

I’m serious about the quotes: The window sills are prime places for some cool quotes and that wall is screaming for it. So, if you have a favorite quote from a book or from history or television or song, please share! I’m not saying everything is going up on the wall, but I am certainly looking for inspiration and I’d be grateful for suggestions!

My tasklist for the end of the week is monstrously long, which makes me sad. You know what else makes me sad? The realization that I’ve gotta go to my Brother-in-Law’s on Sunday. Good news for you? That’s right: In-law Post on Monday. Get pumped.

I’ve gotta go to the liquor store…

Quiet Thoughts on Friday. Amid the chaos, an interesting theme has emerged over the next couple days. I’ve had snippets brewing in my head all week…

See you then!

 

 

8 thoughts on “Tabula Rasa Pars II

  1. The In-Law post is coming! The In-Law post is coming!

    Ok, back to reality–it.looks.fantastic. You guys make a great team and those soleil light covers are simply stupendous. Wherever did you find them? (Yes, it deserved some camp. So sue me.)

    I have a saying, but it’s not in English. Does that count? It’s my lifetime favorite; I learned it from some refugees from Sierra Leone: “Sabi no geht wohri.” It’s Krio for, “Knowledge has no worry.” Yes, the irony was almost too much for my mind to take. Gonna tattoo it somewhere someday.

    Like I said, sorry it’s a diff language, but it’s far more appropriate than my second favorite by Henry Rollins, which is, “Knowledge without mileage is shit.” Maybe you can use that on In-Law night.

    I’ll keep my eyes peeled for something better, and good luck. As always, thank you for the post 🙂

    • I actually really, really like that quote. And yes, the irony is just… wow. And that’ll be great, because people will read it and I’ll INSTANTLY know who is a student of history and who hasn’t been paying attention. This is totally going up on the wall. Just fabulous. I just googled to see if we share all of our characters with Krio and it seems that we do, but there are some differences. I’m going to see if I can get a sticker that reflects the language as it is written…

      And thank you! The hard work paid off in the final product! Did you know that the soleil lights have been there since we moved in? We put them in there when the room was peach. They just didn’t pop until NOW. Even the boys were like “hey, mommy, there are suns up there!” I was like, they’ve been there since January… hilarious.

      Augh, fucking inlaws. I don’t. wanna. go.

      • Really? That long? How cute is that? Tada! Suns! Mom can make magic.

        Yeah Krio is interesting and super easy to learn if you’re around it everyday. It’s cool how it just uses English, but a little differently. And it sounds neat. It’s a fun sound.

        There was one girl who I was instantly drawn to. She would not talk of home beyond things like weather or geography. She managed to get here and enroll in college. And then she just disappeared. I think of her often and pray she’s alright. America can be just as harsh. I’ll never forget Hugo from the Congo. Dude was brilliant, kind, hilarious, spoke five languages but couldn’t get anything but shit jobs. He made the mistake of marrying some crazy American white girl, who made his life such a horror he wanted to go back home. Back home!!?! To the Congo?!! Well done, America.

  2. You asked for quotes?

    ‘Success is not final, failure is not fatal; it is the courage to continue that counts.’ (Winston Churchill)
    ‘Be as you wish to seem.’ (Socrates)
    ‘Climb the mountain so you can see the world, not so the world can see you’
    ‘The principle goal of education is to create men and women who are capable of doing new things, not simply repeating what other generations have done.’ (Jean Piaget)
    ‘Wisdom is oftentimes nearer when we stoop than when we soar’ (Wordsworth)
    ‘If you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live it’s whole life believing it is stupid’
    ‘Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself.’ (George Bernard Shaw)
    ‘The fact that an opinion is widely held is no evidence whatever that it is not utterly absurd’ (Bertrand Russell)
    ‘If it were easy, everybody would do it’
    ‘The world is put back by the death of everyone who has to sacrifice the development of his or her peculiar gifts to conventionality’

    Okay, enough already. Not even sure this is the sort of thing you meant…

    Your room looks fabulous 🙂

    • Whoooooaaaa, these are heavy and I LOVE them. Winston Churchill is one of my favorite people (I’m sure a lot of people say that). Socrates, too. I love the “climb the mountain” quote, as well as the Wordsworth quote. And George Bernard Shaw. Ohhh and the Bertrand Russell… most of these might be going up on the wall, actually. You are AWESOME. These are great boy quotes, too, I noticed. I’m always thinking about “boy” virtues and “Girl” virtues and I really like what is captured here. I don’t know if you did that on purpose, but if you did, that gives you extra awesome points.

      And thank you! It was really hard work and I don’t want to look at a paint brush for a long while, but I’m proud of what we’ve accomplished!

  3. I LOVE this room. It’s coming along so nicely. Great job! Sorry I’m so behind on your blog lately. Working a ton with work and being a mom, and ya know. Life. 🙂 Trying to find balance. I love the lights too. Beautiful.

Thank you for contributing to the discussion!

