Photo: There you go! The winning color palette for the playroom! I was able to hold off the imperialist incursion unto my space! Boom!

 

Lawd if we ain’t burnin’ the candle at both ends.

Seriously. We are both just killing ourselves right now. For the last 5 days, we’ve been up until 11 and then I’ve been getting up at 5, all because we’re working on the playroom and I’m working on the playmat. We’ve been pushing and pushing because we’ve got to get this all done.

We bought the paint this weekend. As you can see, I was able to triumph over my imperialist foe, substituting the red for orange instead. This is very sporty looking in the picture, but the orange isn’t going to be emphasized. The blue will be instead. They used the blue as the accent wall in this photo, but it’ll be the other way around for us. So it won’t feel so sporty.  We went down to our local Benjamin Moore for pricing and help, and I thought we were going to ultimately end up at Home Depot, but the woman was so helpful and friendly, and the prices were so reasonable, that we ended up buying all of our stuff there. More importantly, she put our colors in their system so that we won’t forget and she is excited to help us grow out the rest of the color palette for the house (“so that it won’t look like a hodge podge of individual rooms, but a cohesive house”), which is perfect because that’s what my plan was. I’m going to being our house dossier of paint colors and fabric swatches. It’s good to know that I wasn’t the only one who was thinking that way. We got all of the supplies that we needed for about $120, which is not bad at all. OH! And thanks to suggestions from The Modern Idiot, I have to get with decals and maps and stuff. That’s actually fun work. I am looking for a way to make my own stickers/decals so that I can put inspiring quotes and other items in the windowsills and on some of the paneling. When it’s done, ultimately, it’s going to be so perfect.

But we aren’t ready to prime yet. The Husband revealed that we probably won’t start priming until Wednesday because something something window glazing and something something nail holes. We had a little bit of a fight about this on Friday. The Husband just keeps creating new tasks to add to the work, and I’m very anxious to get this done so that I can get all of the toys out of what used to be toy-free zones. I don’t want to rush him and I am grateful for his meticulous work, but we really could go on forever if we investigate every little hole or scrap down every little thing. I want to do the job, do it well, but also do it with efficiency and focus.  We’re looking at one coat of primer (lead encapsulating) and then 2 coats of colored paint. We still need to purchase carpet for the room, too, which I hope to do this weekend. I wanted to mosey down to Ikea to get some stuff for storage, but I don’t know if we’ll be doing that this weekend. Then again, we’ll need something to do while the paint is drying, I guess… I don’t think we’re going to be able to get the boys in there until mid-week next week. Which seems like not a big deal, but it is really daunting to know that I have to endure another week and a half of this chaos.

Because the lead dust has been removed from the playroom and we are now ready for the rebuilding, my evenings are now dedicated to helping The Husband rather than finishing this playmat. It makes the precious day hours even more important. I’ll post a picture of the work when I’m done–I’m so proud of it. It’s beautiful. Embroidery really does make things like this special. The detailing on this playmat is really going to make it an heirloom. But Lord does it take forever.

I think that what is most frustrating about this is that we’re both putting in a lot of work, but the results are slow and nuanced with very delayed payoff. Meanwhile, the systems of order for the house are deteriorating and everything feels like it is going to hell. I’ve been treading water with the housework, so everything is at the most minimum level of clean/order, which ultimately drives me crazy. It’s zapping all of my energy, I swear. I just don’t feel like I can think properly when the house looks this way.

So I will probably be a little loopy in my posts this week, because I am on the brink of crazy crazy. I really do hope to have a post full of pictures on Friday. I also hope to get a post in about Mother’s Day because… well… this is a mom blog, no? Probably should have something about that, yes? Required and what what? Or maybe I won’t do that. Ha! Rebel without a cause! Especially because my bloggy friend Meredith over at Perfection Pending  totally took the words out of my mouth today.

Oh. Did I mention that there are hornets hanging out in my mudroom? Yeah… that’s awesome. The internet taught me that peppermint oil and soap water is an effective way to kill them, but I don’t know what I’m going to do about the hive as a whole. Especially because I don’t know where it is. I’ve noticed that the hornets (or wasps. Is there a difference?) seem to be very lethargic. Does that mean they are dying on their own without need of my help and they may eventually just go away? (Please say yes.)

We’re gonna make it through this week! We have no other choice! Onward, dear reader! Onward!

9 thoughts on “We Do What We Must

  1. They might not be hornets! If they really look lethargic, they could be termite “queens.” If you can trap one, you can google it. But honestly, darling… call an exterminator! Love the colors. Love.

  2. Your post’s title is more apt than you think. After a year if being in business the Moore brothers’ building burned down, three day later they were back in business plugging on. To this day, even being sold to a Buffet company, B. Moore is a top paint for safety, Eco friendliness, and quality.
    Just keep keepin’ on, it’ll work out great.
    And yeah, it’s okay to blog-pass; Husband’s right about the particulars of pre-painting, spend time with him instead.

    • I didn’t realize that B. Moore had such a fantastic story. The Husband just wanted to go in there because it was close. I swore up and down that small businesses like that were going to have unseemly prices. I hate to be wrong, but I was happy to be this time around. And I am always happy to help a small business when I can. We seem to be spending a lot of money in our local Ace and now we’re probably only ever going to buy paint from this place.

      And you’ll be happy to note that The Husband was all about covery every crack and the yada yada and what not. We’re ready to paint now!

  3. Oh, hornets ARE wasps, and they are territorial little bastards that will f*** your world all up when the weather gets above 60′ and they can move about better. They usually won’t try to sting you in the house at this time; but like any insect, you’ll get poked if you crash into one hard enough or sit on it. Eventually though they will turn pissy once they’ve settled in and started mating, so Follow Britt’s advice and call an exterminator if you’d rather not go crawling around looking for the nest yourself.

    • I’m a little peeved that the exterminator who came didn’t seem to care about the wasps. They seem to have reduced since he has been here, but I’ve seen two or three since. The good news: Peppermint Oil is like liquid fire to them, and it also works on ants, so that’s cool. Bad news tho is that I don’t always anticipate seeing them. So I’m going to get dude back out here.

      • I’d make that f$&@€¥ crawl into every crevice of my house with a flashlight and a can of sealing foam. Earn your money bugman.

  4. I LOVE the colors you chose! I like those a lot better than the other pallet you posted. So nice! And I agree, call an exterminator! You could be burning that candle on both ends, with swollen hands! Be careful =)

Thank you for contributing to the discussion!

