Well hello there and happy Monday to you!

Today is technically a holiday, albeit a problematic one and one that not many people actually take. I had every intention of writing a full post today, and then I realized that I haven’t done much outlining and preparing for NaNoWriMo next month, so I’m going to dedicate the last little bit of this nap time toward that. The schedule for WordCamp Boston just went live, too, and I’d like to read through that and put the schedule in my Moleskine in preparation (I’m a nerd. I know.). I am getting more and more excited about attending my first WordPress event!

I refuse to leave you hanging, though, so I’m posting a few pictures. The Husband and I were able to slip away to Cape Cod on Saturday for a day to ourselves. The boys stayed with Mom and we took the drive on down. We only go to the Cape during the off season–there is no one down there, it is absolutely beautiful, businesses that are open are happy for your business so you get excellent service, and did I mention that no one is down there? Fantastic.

We’re members of the MassAudubon Society because I got that membership to Drumlin Farm. This gives up access to some 80 wildlife sanctuaries around the state, which is overwhelming and wonderful. We decided to visit Long Pasture Wildlife Sanctuary, which is absolutely beautiful and peaceful. There are about 2 some odd miles of walking paths, and around every corner is a beautiful little surprise. The Husband and I practically had the place to ourselves, it is was wonderful to hold hands and giggle and discover little secrets around every corner. What a special little place. Should you ever get to travel to the Cape, take a little time to visit.

The sanctuary had a lovely view of the bay. Supposedly there is an oyster bed nearby and there are tastings during the year sometime. I told my husband we were gonna have to come back for that. Can you imagine oysters so fresh?

The sanctuary had a lovely view of the bay. Supposedly there is an oyster bed nearby and there are tastings during the year sometime. I told my husband we were gonna have to come back for that. Can you imagine oysters so fresh?

The wetlands are beautiful, and the grass actually sways in the breeze in beautiful unison. We thought that the ground would be swampy and eat your feet, but instead it was firm. Like clay that was drying out.

The wetlands are beautiful, and the grass actually sways in the breeze in beautiful unison. We thought that the ground would be swampy and eat your feet, but instead it was firm. Like clay that was drying out.

 

The camera on my phone is so awful, but I tried to take a panorama of the area...

The camera on my phone is so awful, but I tried to take a panorama of the area…

 

The walk was full of little gateways like this...breathtaking places where the canopy wraps around itself, creating pretty little thickets and groves. We loved coming upon these sorts of places. One moment, you were looking at the sky, the next the ceiling was low with branches and berries. Next, the ceiling was high but the leaves from the trees were falling upon our heads. Someone at the Audubon society is a genius.

The walk was full of little gateways like this…breathtaking places where the canopy wraps around itself, creating pretty little thickets and groves. We loved coming upon these sorts of places. One moment, you were looking at the sky, the next the ceiling was low with branches and berries. Next, the ceiling was high but the leaves from the trees were falling upon our heads. Someone at the Audubon society is a genius.

 

There were two ponds on the property, this is one of them. Very swampy, and yet beautiful.

There were two ponds on the property, this is one of them. Very swampy, and yet beautiful.

 

We came upon a beautiful holly tree as we were talking around the pond. The sanctuary used to belong to a family--there is a pretty little house on it and everything. If I were a little kid growing up on this property, I'm pretty sure that this would have been my favorite place to be.

We came upon a beautiful holly tree as we were talking around the pond. The sanctuary used to belong to a family–there is a pretty little house on it and everything. If I were a little kid growing up on this property, I’m pretty sure that this would have been my favorite place to be.

 

Under the holly. Isn't it cozy?

Under the holly. Isn’t it cozy?

 

There was a bit of swamp along the way as well. You'd think that this isn't beautiful...but it is. My camera doesn't do it justice.

There was a bit of swamp along the way as well. You’d think that this isn’t beautiful…but it is. My camera doesn’t do it justice.

 

There is a butterfly garden at the sanctuary that blooms beautifully in the spring and summer. Of course, there was nothing there when we walked around. Still, it was lovely to see the tall grasses and stalks.

There is a butterfly garden at the sanctuary that blooms beautifully in the spring and summer. Of course, there was nothing there when we walked around. Still, it was lovely to see the tall grasses and stalks.

 

This was our "huh" moment of the trip. Many of the flowers were labeled. I don't know which of these flowers are actually the "pussytoes."

This was our “huh” moment of the trip. Many of the flowers were labeled. I don’t know which of these flowers are actually the “pussytoes.”

 

Seriously...who names things? What an odd name! And (women's tobacco) doesn't make it any better! Am I supposed to smoke that? With what? Does it does something to my lady-hormones or something? Weirdness...

Seriously…who names things? What an odd name! And (women’s tobacco) doesn’t make it any better! Am I supposed to smoke that? With what? Does it does something to my lady-hormones or something? Weirdness…

 

We walked through an old cornfield and came across a fairly windy path. I love the pop of color here. I wish I had a better camera!!

We walked through an old cornfield and came across a fairly windy path. I love the pop of color here. I wish I had a better camera!!

 

Another gateway... just breathtaking in person.

Another gateway… just breathtaking in person.

 

And then we came across this huge, wide field surrounded by trees. The wind whipped through here, so the sound just filled your ears. We sat here for a good half hour just taking it all in.

And then we came across this huge, wide field surrounded by trees. The wind whipped through here, so the sound just filled your ears. We sat here for a good half hour just taking it all in.

 

At the end of the walk, we were fascinated by this fallen tree. Note that it took some large stones with it. It is a massive structure, taller than I am and taller than Husband (he's about 5'9). So cool.

At the end of the walk, we were fascinated by this fallen tree. Note that it took some large stones with it. It is a massive structure, taller than I am and taller than Husband (he’s about 5’9). So cool.

 

After leaving the sanctuary, we drove around for a little while. We found homes worth more money than we'll ever see in our lifetimes, we saw a really cool Model T, we came upon the JFK museum, and we ended up finding a beach near the ferry port in Hyannis. We at there for a while and watched the ships go by.

After leaving the sanctuary, we drove around for a little while. We found homes worth more money than we’ll ever see in our lifetimes, we saw a really cool Model T, we came upon the JFK museum, and we ended up finding a beach near the ferry port in Hyannis. We at there for a while and watched the ships go by.

 

The Cape really is a magical place. Really kitchy and touristy if you want it to be, but there are a lot of hidden gems that are special and sweet there, too. If the National Seashore had been open, we might have driven up there, too, but alas, it is a s federal park. We’ve only had a chance to make it to one of the islands, Nantucket, but it made such a strong impression on us that we’d rather go there again than venture over to Martha’s Vineyard. Nantucket really is a special place. I swear I’m going to retire to a little shake there.

(What about Maryland???) that’s what you are thinking.

I mean, yeah. I’ll probably end up retiring there

but in another life, I think I’ll retire to a little shack on Nantucket, equipped with a little wood burning stove and just enough room for me, a loved one, and a dog. And a dock, of course, because I’d probably fish…and i guess I’d need a boat…I’d knit, quilt, write and cook until i could no longer use my fingers…

Sorry, I’m distracted.

Anyhoo.

Holiday Mondays are a double-edged sword. While the 3-day weekend is wonderful, you wake up on Tuesday and realize that you have to compact 5 days worth of tasks into 4. So much to do! So little time!! If you are privileged enough to have today off, I hope that you are having a great one–may your 4 day week be productive. For the rest of ya’ll who don’t have this day off, I hope that you take the consolation in the fact that you aren’t celebrating and condoning a mass-murderer. Columbus was a bit of a tool, ya know?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “A Little Bloggy Holiday

  1. this was so cool! i love going places without leaving home 🙂 that tree stump is crazy! and the pano turned out great, no worries.

    ‘pussytoes,’ when in bloom, look like the pads of little kitty paws. fuzzy and white; we have it ’round here. i’m not sure why ‘woman’s’ tobacco specifically, but i know it’s similar to some nicotiana species in that can be lit and produces smoke. i’ve heard some native american rituals used it for smudging, but i don’t remember mention of it actually being smoked like tobacco.

    perhaps it was like a lower-quality alternative to actual tobacco, and so was named after the female of the sex? just spitballin.’ it’d be cool to find out for sure though. some of the histories of flower common names are really interesting.

Thank you for contributing to the discussion!

