“You didn’t really think it would be that easy, did you?” “You know, for a second there… yeah, I did.”

I got a text yesterday around 10 in the morning.

“You got it. $250,000.”

Well holy, holy crap.

So then my realtor called me right afterward. “Did you get my text?”

“Yeah, I just got it!”

“I just hope you understand that this is unheard of. I mean, you’re getting this house for some $100k off. It’s unbelievable.”

I mean, ok. I prefer to think of it as this house was way overpriced to begin with and we were able to bring it down to a reasonable place. I’m not going to call this a “steal” by any fashion, but I’ll say that we created an acceptable contract.

“Well they want to go to Purchase and Sale today.”

“I’m going on vacation tomorrow.”

“Yeah. I know. That’s why we’re doing this today.”

Well, I waited all day and prepared for my vacation. You really should see my moleskine–so many lists, so many strike-throughs. Bags everywhere, clothes folded, washer and dryer humming. The boys barely napped, but I had no time to slow down. I’m running on pure momentum. The simple idea of vacation pulled me through the day.

Dinner time comes and the pizza has arrived. My sons are throwing their own little party, screaming “pizza” with glee. Ursa Minor says “Pizza” as clear as day now.

“PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! Mama, can we eat pizza? Mama, we want to eat! PIZZA!!!! PIZZZZAAAAAAA!!!”

My cell phone rings. Obviously that is when my cell phone rings. It’s my realtor.

“Hey girl! What’s good?”

“Have you received any emails from the attorneys, yet?’

“Nope. Nothing but random things you forwarded to me.”

A pause. “Augh. So, I have to tell you, the selling agent is just so crazy.”

Yes, this is true, the selling agent seems to be a bit off. “Uh huh.”

“So she says that they don’t want to do all of the septic. They want to do the septic but not replace the pipes that connect it to the house and remove the …”

What? Who does that? Why would you do  all of that work and then not connect it to the house?? “What??”

“Yeah, I know, it’s so crazy. I told her, I said, listen, we’re not changing any of the language in the documents. The only thing we’re changing is the number.”

“Right,”

“So she said that the selling family was talking about that. I told her the attorneys are negotiating language and that we’re not negotiating anything else.”

“So, I mean, I’m going on vacation, so what does this mean?” Because let’s be clear. The only thing I want in the entire world is to stop thinking and to go on vacation.

“Well, I told her that. I said that you were going on vacation and you wouldn’t have any access to stuff. I told her you guys were camping on an island in the ocean.”

Uh…we’re totally not doing that.

She continued, “and you should have heard her. She was all ‘they won’t have any access to internet?’ and I told her no. I told her that we were very upfront about what’s going on.”

“Thanks, we really appreciate your advocacy.”

“No worries! No worries at all! This is just so crazy!”

“So now what?”

“Well, now we wait.”

And so here I am, waiting.

I have nothing to compare this to. Nothing. I have few words even to describe what I’m feeling. I can’t fully say “frustrated” because I still have an expectation that this will go through. Right? This is still going to go through, isn’t it?

I absolutely hate that the uncertainty around this property and this process is now going to loom over my much needed vacation. I told my realtor that we really won’t be incommunicado until Friday, and so if we can get this in order, we still might be able to keep this running smoothly. Or else everything is on hold until we return, backing up the timeline. And remember, they can’t do the septic is the ground is cold.

and in Massachusetts, Winter is always coming.

I refuse to let go of the power and optimism that I had on Monday. I refuse to relinquish to this insanity.

Keeping my fingers crossed that the odds will be ever in my favor.

See you Friday with an update, and probably an in-law story.

 

9 thoughts on ““You didn’t really think it would be that easy, did you?” “You know, for a second there… yeah, I did.”

  1. Keeping my fingers crossed for everything to work out for you! I know that anything dealing with realtors and attorneys and the like can be frustrating as HELL. It’s not near to what you’re dealing with, but when we were finalizing the purchase of our house we had a huge fight with the selling agent because she had screwed up the listing…her exact words were that “all appliances except the dishwasher are included in sale”, but apparently what she MEANT was that ONLY the dishwasher was included in the sale. We had a huge to-do with her through our agent because our offering price was made under the assumption that we were getting the fridge, stove, washing machine, and dryer as well. It was a stupid stressful pain-in-the-ass and the selling agent never did actually own up her idiocy.

    Anyway, yeah, try to enjoy your vacation without worrying about anything! it won’t do you any good to obsess over it anyway, so try to just forget it’s happening until you get home. 🙂

    • Thank you, thank you and thank you! Of course, it’s gotten no better. I can’t WAIT to write tomorrow’s post. Loooorrrdddd…. it’s like, why do I bother? Hmmm??

      I’m sorry about your situation. So did you end up keeping the stuff or did they take it? That’s really stupid.Sometimes it is really hard not to take this process a little personally, you know??

  2. Go on vacation and relax. Though vacationing with toddlers isn’t really relaxing, but you know what I mean. You like the house enough that you’re in now and it’s not worth it to not get the entire septic system done. I know this is easier said than done but I’m wishing for a beach vacation of my own and must live vicariously through your posts. I think you’re right when you said the house was overpriced to begin with, especially with all the work it needs.

    • I feel like I’m so deep into it now that I can’t very well turn back. There is part of me that is like “F*** this! I’M OUT!!!” and there is another part of me is like “Don’t let them win. Don’t let them take this from you!!!” Way too much emotion involved… I should never have stepped into this house.

      I can’t wait to write my post about what happens next tomorrow. My goodness…

      and thanks for the well wishes. Everyone keeps assuring me that we’re going to have a great vacation and each family member is like “we’re totally going to watch the kids!” but I’m not so sure. I think I’m going to be keeping up my “3 meals a day, 2 loads of laundry” routine, but just as a more luxurious location.

Thank you for contributing to the discussion!

