Of profound weeks, and 6:45 on a Friday…

 

I am writing a short post this morning, because I feel like I’ve been at my computer all week.

As I wrote on Tuesday, I’m am simply overjoyed and overwhelmed by all of the new visitors, your wonderful thoughts and comments, the fact that some of you are taking the time to read my posts from waaaay back..I din’t even know what to say. Just thank you. I’ve spent my time this week trying to reply to every single one of you and it has been really fun (and if I missed someone, I’m crazy sorry!!)

And now it’s 6:45 on Friday morning. My time to get ready for my Peapod delivery, bake the Friday muffins for my boys, maybe fry up a little bacon, and start my weekend with a little bit of calm…

and that’s what I’m going to do. I’m going to write this short post, a short post for my writer’s blog, and then I’m going to step away to reflect, renew, refresh….because I want to keep writing posts that are worthy of your time and thoughts. Having you hear to think and discuss with me means so much. I won’t keep you if I start writing crappy posts!!

So I leave you with our Friday muffin recipe, which is really quite simple and delicious:

Adapted from Joy of Cooking:

Preheat your oven to 350

In a bowl, whisk together your dry ingredients:

2 cups of all-purpose flour (but bread flour works, too, and makes it delicious and moist)

1 tablespoon of baking powder

1/2 teaspoon of salt

Nutmeg to taste

Cinnamon to taste

Cloves to taste

and if you’re really cool and you have some Penzey’s Cake blend, sprinkle a little of that in, too.

(If you want to make these buttermilk muffins, add 1/2 teaspoon of baking SODA too)

 

For your wet ingredients, in another bowl, whisk together:

1 stick of unsalted butter, melted (yeah, you heard me)

2/3rd cup of brown sugar

(combine these first. I find that it makes the texture better and the taste richer)

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

2 large eggs

1 cup of milk, cream or buttermilk. (Heavy cream makes it super rich. Buttermilk makes them fluffy/crumbly)

 

Combine your wet and dry, and mix until batter just comes together. It will likely NOT be smooth, and that’s ok. Put into a greased muffin tin (makes 12) and bake for about 15 minutes.

Now this ain’t no food blog with pretty hi-res pictures, because I’m not all that rich, so use your imagination. I promise, they are delicious. Serve them hot with butter. Preferably with a cup of hot coffee (but for my international readers, tea is perfectly acceptable. 🙂  )

Ursa Major knows the difference between Friday and other days because Friday means “muffins” and “peapod.” It’s very cool. And these muffins aren’t crazy full of sugar and stuff like what you get at the bakery….so I don’t mind serving it to my boys once a week.

I’ll be back on Monday, full of dreams, full of stuff to say. Today is for muffins, and for baking bread, and since it is rainy and cold here in Massachusetts, I think I’m going old-school and making a meatloaf.

 

Happy cooking. Happy reading. Happy living. Happy Friday. Happy quiet moments. I hope you’ll take the time to find one today.

 

And thank you. And welcome. And then again, Thank you. I’m so glad that you’ve found me. I’m so glad you’re here. See you Monday!

12 thoughts on “Of profound weeks, and 6:45 on a Friday…

  1. I so miss baking! I didn’t make anything fancy, just cakes, muffins, biscuits, cookies and cupcakes. They were always a hit although they didn’t look that amazing. Ovens aren’t big here so I have to wait until July before mine arrives and I can make some muffins too. Enjoy your time and those muffins! Making me super jealous!

    • I used to hate baking–too much science and measuring for me–but then I mastered yeast and just took off from there. I have a real passion for it now. I still prefer to dance on the savory side (especially in front of a grill), but figuring out how to bake has made me so happy.

      Where are you that people don’t use ovens?

      • We’re in Kolkata, India. We’ve moved here with our 2 kids after my husband got a job that was too good to pass up. I was raised in the UK and both my children were born there. Weird to be here, but good.

  2. It’s all rainy and dark… as you know… you’re practically down the street. It’s a good morning for warm sweets. Out of bloggy solidarity, and because I’ll eat anything including melted butter and brown sugar, these just came out of my oven. I will only eat one. I will only eat one. I will only eat one.

    Happy Friday, friend.

    • These rainy crappy Fridays are really bumming me out. I hope it picks up next week (the forecast isn’t promising.) I’m hoping to make it out to see the dragon boats on Sunday.

      How did you enjoy the muffins? How many did you end up eating? My husband ate freaking 5. I was like, dude, what are you doing!? Killin’ me over here…

    • Thanks for the rec…I followed her right away. We producers of half-breeds need to stick together.

      And I can’t believe you just used “wicked” like that on my blog. I don’t know how I feel about you now…you Bostonions and your “wicked”….I mean, really…what’s up with that?

    • It’s our weekly shipment of Soilent Green. An Ivy League degree comes with a license to eat human brains. It’s how we keep our smartness edge on the general masses. The boxes that they come in are green and we don’t want to alert the masses that we’re harvesting brains. “Peapod” sounds so much more appealing.

      But don’t tell anyone. Don’t want that getting out…

      • No really, it’s how we get our groceries delivered. Our local grocery store chain (stop and shop) had a delivery service. It sounds very decadent, but it is actually very useful: No two kids screaming for this or that, and I stay on budget every week. No surprise when I get to the counter. I’m one of those shoppers who goes with a list and then also ends up adding a million other things to my cart…so…this is my tool for staying on track.

  3. Another spot on post. The muffin recipe sounds gorgeous and I love the idea of the weekly tradition. I read this drinking my iced coffe on my patio, where I am hidden behind a tree from passersby just a few feet away. The sprinkler across the street is offset and reaching to the corner on my side of the street…I think about who to inform of this, but I’m enjoying the looks of surprise on the faces of people getting blasted as they drive by in their cars. It’s the little things. And I’m enjoying them. Have a wonderful weekend!

Thank you for contributing to the discussion!

