Bone tired

 

I wish I had a lot to write about today, but I have been to-the-bone tired. This is one of those weeks where I feel like I’m running in place: I clean, but the apartment doesn’t feel like it’s improving. I care for the boys, but I don’t feel like I’m having meaningful moments with them. I do laundry, but the basket feels like it’s constantly full. I make meals, but they don’t feel inspired. The weather isn’t helping, of course. It has been cold, and when it hasn’t been cold, it has been gray. It is 54 degrees here in The North today, which makes me long for spring, but it’s still flippin’ January…sooooo guess that’s a long way out.

I went to my favorite clothing stores (Gap/Ann Taylor/Loft/Old Navy) just to see what the spring fashions are going to look like and I was like ew to most of the things I saw. The things that I did like, I was like “You want how much for that!?!?!?!” Lord…come on…. and can we talk about skinny floral print pants for a second? Really? Who is wearing that? Even if I was that skinny (and I’m most certainly not that skinny. I’m not humongous by any means, but I’m not that skinny), you wouldn’t catch me dead in those things. This maxi dress is more my speed, but if you look at the price, you’ll see why I won’t be buying. I would totally rock the hell out of that dress.

And I feel like Sesame Street is on repeat. If I have to see the Elmo the Musical “Circus the Musical” one more time, I’m going to freaking scream. Even Ursa Major is sick of it. As soon as he noticed that Sesame Street was a rerun again, he looked at me and was like “dancing music!” and I just turned on Pandora. I feel like my local PBS station has been repeating the same 6 episodes of Sesame Street for the last few weeks. I mean, I know there was the Elmo Shakeup a while ago, but aren’t their over 4,000 episodes of Sesame Street? I don’t need new ones, I just need different ones.

I haven’t even felt like getting into much political debate this week, and there is a lot to talk about. And I should be feeling good, seeing as my governor just appointed the second African-American in state history to be our new interim senator. That’s good, but it can’t seem to get me out of the “blahs” that I’m in that the moment.

At least I like my book, sorta. I’m currently reading Infinite Jest, a book that I found on a “hipster reading list” that I found on Good Reads via Tumblr. It is interesting and engaging, if not just a little bit strange. But I’m tearing through it, so that’s a bright spot. I gave up on 2666, which I got about a third of the way though and was like whaaaaaaaa? I was stubbornly trying to finish it, but after falling asleep every 50 or so pages, I threw in the towel.

I’m not even inspired to cook this upcoming Sunday. I’m a Washington Redskins fan, but being from Maryland, I am pumped that the Ravens are in the Superbowl. I would have loved to make some Maryland crab cakes for Sunday night, but the price of crab meat up here in The North is contemptible (and it isn’t that fresh anyway). So wings? Ribs? Meh…

Hopefully I’ll be out of my funk by Friday. Until then…

What do you do to get out of the “Blahs” (Is Vitamin D the answer? Maybe I should get some Vitamin D…)? Is anyone cooking something awesome for Super Bowl Sunday? Can anyone point me to some spring fashion for real people? People with taste? Is there a way to fast forward to, say, March? 

3 thoughts on “Bone tired

    • Thank you so much! I love your blog, too! Thank you for reading. 🙂

      I swear that there are a lot of mommy bloggers having the same week as we are. There are at least 2 other entries in my Reader that are like “blah. I have the blahs. It is so blah.” It’s funny and sad at the same time.

      The sun will come out tomorrow, right? 🙂

Thank you for contributing to the discussion!

