Stepping out, speaking out, and looking for other voices

Hello!  Thanks for visiting!

My name is Kay and I’m a mother. An African-American mother to two beautiful bi-racial boys, living in a liberal but segregated state in the North. I’ve lived here for years, thinking that some day I’d return to my home down South, but the Invisible Hand has kept me and my husband here. I never thought I’d start a family in a place so wholly different from the place where I grew up, and I find myself faced with a terrible realization: I need to put down roots, a foundation that is sturdy, and create a community for my sons that is as diverse and rich as I can make. This will be impossible without seeking outside sources. This is one of many efforts to make that happen.

This blog is also a place for me to release some pent-up energy. I’m a former teacher. A former good teacher. And I miss the classroom every day. I am exciting on using this blog for the purposes of teaching and discussing without leaving my home!

I will also admit that this blog has an agenda. After this past election, I came to the conclusion that in a new political world where people of color (the collective of people of color) are the new majority voice in this country, Mothers of Children of Color should be courted and listened to in the same way that White suburban mothers have enjoyed for years. My sons are the future of this country. I take pride in raising them to be good citizens, good stewards of democracy, good leaders, good men. And I think that it’s high time that politicians seek me out and ask me about my wants and needs. I know that there are other women out there who feel the same way. I want to know you, I want to hear from you, I want to collect your stories and do something with them. Brown Motherhood, being mothers to Children of Color, in my point of view, is the new “Republican Motherhood.” 

Now, don’t get all crazy on me. Don’t look at “Republican” in a red state/blue state sort of way. “Republican Motherhood” is the idea of linking motherhood and raising children to that of a civic duty. Now, of course, as a feminist, we can talk about “women’s spheres” and “men’s spheres” from back then at another time. I don’t want to resurrect the old usage and set us back 200 years. I want to redefine, rework the concept to  come up with something powerful and new. We have the potential to be a very powerful collective.

I’ve been talking about this kind of thing for a long time. And every time it comes up, I’ve been told “Well, K, you should do something about it.” Fine. I’m going to be the change that I want to see in the world. Here is my first small step into something big.

I look forward to the discussions yet to come.

Thank you for contributing to the discussion!

